Pension News

Retiree Representative/Equitable Factors Panel Appointed

October 13, 2019

The Fund’s board of trustees recently appointed Brad C. Eggen, president of Local 30-73 (Minneapolis-St. Paul, MN) to act as the Retiree Representative, a position created by the Multiemployer Pension Reform Act (MPRA). His role is to apply the statutory list of equitable factors in the best interests of the retirees and present his viewpoint to the Fund trustees and the US Department of the Treasury. He will provide an independent voice in the process, supported by independent legal counsel and independent actuarial review and advice.

As the retiree representative, Eggen is tasked with the responsibility to advocate for the interests of retirees and terminated vested participants throughout the benefit reduction plan process, and has assembled a panel of plan participants—the Equitable Factors Panel—to assist him in outreach to the retirees and terminated vested participants. Panel members are as follows:

Maura Giannini. Giannini is both a musician and an attorney. with degrees from Manhattan School of Music and the Rutgers School of Law. She has performed with the New Jersey Symphony Orchestra, New York City Opera, Opera Orchestra of New York, New Jersey Opera Association, in more than 100 Broadway musicals, recorded jingles, TV themes, records, films, and cast albums for a variety of artists. She has served 16 years on the Local 802 (New York City) Executive Board.

Brad Buckley. Buckley performed with St. Louis Symphony Orchestra as the contrabassoon and utility bassoon player for 45 years. During his career with the SLSO, he served as chairman of the St. Louis Symphony Musicians Council, trustee of the St. Louis Symphony Musicians Internal Pension plan, vice president of St. Louis Local 2-197 AFM, vice-chairman of the International Conference of Symphony Opera and Ballet Musicians (ICSOM), chairman of ICSOM, and chairman of the ICSOM Media Committee.

John Hobbs. A first-call session keyboardist for over three decades, John Hobbs has contributed to modern country classics such as Reba McEntire’s “Whoever’s in New England,” George Strait’s “Does Fort Worth Ever Cross Your Mind,” and Shania Twain’s “You’re Still the One.” One of the most respected keyboard players in country music, Hobbs was one of Nashville’s elite session musicians, contributing to contemporary recordings by Brooks & Dunn, Deana Carter, Kenny Chesney, Toby Keith, Kenny Rogers, and many others. Hobbs has earned the Academy of Country Music’s Keyboard Player of the Year Award 11 times.

Mike Merritt. Mike Merritt recently concluded 25 years as the house band bassist on all of Conan O’ Brien’s late night TV shows, starting with Late Night and The Tonight Show on NBC, and concluding with Conan on TBS. Merritt has toured and recorded with Grammy-winning bluesman Johnny Copeland, Rock and Roll Hall of Fame member Johnnie Johnson, and was an original member of Grammy-winner Levon Helm’s Midnight Ramble Band. He has performed with artists like Chuck Berry, Ruth Brown, David Johansen, Hubert Sumlin, Son Seals, Bruce Springsteen, and many others.

Retiree Representative Eggen will meet with the panel and share information he receives from retirees and terminated vested participants. t to learn how to contact him and find links to relevant information throughout this process. The website will be updated as new information becomes available. He encourages you to express your thoughts and opinions on the process.